BBPA 2018 annual award winners revealed

BBPA 2018 annual award winners revealed

Esteemed brewers and operators have scooped up the honours at this year’s British Beer & Pub Association (BBPA) Annual Awards.

The awards were presented at the BBPA’s Annual Dinner in London, which is run in association with Pub & Bar.

St Austell Brewery, Joseph Holt, S.A. Brain, Molson Coors and Ian Payne MBE all picked up an award, which celebrate and showcase the very best achievements and innovations of the beer and pub industry.

The winners triumphed in four categories; Pub Champion, sponsored by Diageo; Heart of the Community, sponsored by C&C Group; Beer Champion, sponsored by Heineken; and the Chairman’s award. They were presented by BBPA chairman and chief executive of Fuller, Smith & Turner, Simon Emeny.

The winners

  • Pub Champion Award Winner: St Austell Brewery
  • Heart of the Community Award Winners: Joseph Holt and S.A. Brain
  • Beer Champion Award Winner: Molson Coors
  • Chairman’s Award Winner: Ian Payne MBE

“Many congratulations to all of our winners and thank you to all those who entered as well,” says Brigid Simmonds, chief executive of the BBPA. “The BBPA Annual Awards serve to highlight the continued achievements of our industry and rewards the commitment to our sector and local communities and we look forward to more award-winning efforts in the future.

“I have known Ian Payne for the past 25 years, through Rank, Stakis and back to his much-loved pub trade. He thoroughly deserves the Chairman’s Award for the huge contribution he has made to the leisure sector. Visiting every one of his 333 pubs in 2011 is just one example of his dedication and he has always supported so many of the BBPA’s campaigns.”