Parliamentary Pubs of the Year announced

Parliamentary Pubs of the Year announced

The 14 regional winners and national finalists of the inaugural Parliamentary Pub of the Year competition are hoping to be announced as the overall winner on 15 January at the House of Commons, Westminster.

The announcement is timely for the industry, as nominations for the National Pub & Bar Awards are now open to the trade.

Following nomination by their local MP, each pub had to submit a short video portraying the character of the pub and their engagement with their customers and local community. Videos were then viewed by a panel of judges and regional winners selected, with the overall champion being revealed next week.

Launched in the summer of 2018 by chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Pub Group, Toby Perkins MP, the competition seeks to recognise the important role pubs play in British life and the value they add to the local communities and the local economy.

The finalists:

East Midlands – Chesterfield Arms, Chesterfield
East – Kings Arms, South West Norfolk
London – Alexandra, Wimbledon
North East – Stapylton Arms, Easington
North West – Kash 22, Weaver Vale (Runner up: Victoria, Bury)
Scotland – The Brass and Granite, Kilmarnoch (Runner up: The Criterion, North East Fife)
South East – The Crown, Hastings
South West – The Westbrook, Devizes
Wales – The Four Elms, Cardiff (Runner Up Fat Boar, Wrexham)
West Midlands – The Robin Hood, Willenhall
Yorks – The Grayston Unity, Halifax

The 14 finalists were picked from over 100 nominations made from MPs across the country.